Menu Close

Fred Riggs Award for Lifetime Achievement

Call for Nominations

2021 Fred Riggs Award for Lifetime Achievement

SICA is currently seeking nominations for the 2021 Fred Riggs Award for Lifetime Achievement in International and Comparative Public Administration. The Fred Riggs Award was established by SICA in 1985 to recognize scholars who made significant and widely recognized contributions to the conceptual, theoretical and/or operational progress in the fields of international, comparative and/or development administration.  This award is named in honor of Fred W. Riggs, a pioneer in these fields and a leading founder of SICA. The award is made annually at the SICA Business Meeting held in conjunction with the ASPA Annual Conference.
Each letter of nomination should indicate in some depth the person’s intellectual achievements and relevant qualifications for the Fred Riggs Award. You should include the nominee’s CV as well as any other supporting documents. There should be at least two letters of recommendation with at least one letter from a SICA member. All nomination materials should be sent directly to Kim Moloney as the SICA Chair and the Riggs Award Chair.
Please send all nominations to with a cc: to by Friday February 12th 2021. All received nominations will be considered by our 2021 Riggs Award Committee:

  • Committee Chair: Kim Moloney, SICA Chair, Murdoch University, Australia.
  • Louise Comfort, University of Pittsburgh, US (2020 Awardee).
  • Naim Kapucu, University of Central Florida, US (2018 Awardee).
  • Pan Suk Kim, Yonsei University, South Korea (2019 Awardee).
  • Jen Murtazashvili, University of Pittsburgh, US.
  • Meghna Sabharwal, SICA Chair-Elect, University of Texas at Dallas, US.

The Awardee will be announced before March 15th 2021 and the award will be offered at the 2021 SICA Business Meeting at the virtual ASPA Annual Conference in April 2021. We look forward to receiving your nominations before the deadline.

2021 Winner: Donald E. Klingner

2020 Winner: Louise Comfort

2019 Winner: Pan Suk Kim

2018 Winner: Naim Kapucu

2017 Winner: Dr. Ali Farazmand

2016 Winner: Dr. Jennifer Brinkerhoff 

2015 Winner: Dr. Evan M. Berman

2013 Winner: M. Shamsul Haque